Personal Touch – Professional Results

Photo of attorneys Robert M. Kirilloff, Jessica L. Jowers, and Seth H. Stuer.

Frequently Asked Questions

Bring us your questions such as the following about your accidental injury and get personalized answers in a free initial consultation.

How much does Kirilloff Jowers, P.A., charge for legal representation?

Kirilloff Jowers, P.A., charges the standard contingency fee (a percentage of the gross recovery) as stated by the Florida Bar (and the Georgia bar for our Georgia cases). The best part about a contingency fee is that if we don’t win your case, you don’t owe us a dime! The difference between our firm and the bigger advertising firms is that we don’t nickel-and-dime you for things like mileage, postage, ink, paper and so on. We also don’t charge you interest on the costs that we front for your case.

Feel free to call or email us if you have any additional questions regarding contingency fees.

What can I do to help my attorney with my case?

Clients don’t often realize the value of their input in the case. You are the only one in our relationship with direct knowledge of what actually happened, what you noticed, and the way the injury has affected you and your family’s lives. Here are a few tips for helping us help you:

  • BE HONEST. If a lawsuit has to be filed, you can bet the defense will find out everything about you and your case – it’s their job. We don’t care what the problem is; if you tell us upfront, then, we can plan for it and make it work. If you conceal anything or are dishonest and the defense finds out about it, it can kill your case and sometimes the court can impose sanctions. It is critical to tell the truth.
  • Stay in touch. At Kirilloff Jowers, P.A., we pride ourselves in our unmatched communication with our clients. However, things may come up in between communications that is vital to the case. Let us know about these things as soon as they arise. Also, if you move or get a new phone number, let us know as soon as you can.
  • If you don’t understand something or need further explanation on absolutely anything, let us know. We are here for you and have no problem taking the time to make sure you understand what and why we are doing certain things that pertain to your case. Sometimes we will get a phone call, and the client will say “sorry to bother you.” You are never a bother to us, and your calls do not annoy us.

What is a statute of limitations?

All states have statutes of limitations that specify how long people have to file lawsuits after accidents or discoveries of wrongdoing occur. Depending on the situation, the statute of limitation after an accident in Florida may be from two to four years. See the examples below of specific statutes of limitations in Florida and Georgia, our largest neighboring state.


  • Injury to person – 4 years
  • Libel/slander – 2 years
  • Fraud – 4 years
  • Injury to personal property – 4 years
  • Professional malpractice – generally, 2 years
  • Trespass – 4 years


  • Injury to person – 2 years
  • Libel/slander – 1 year
  • Fraud – 2 years
  • Injury to personal property – 4 years
  • Professional malpractice – generally, 2 years
  • Trespass – 4 years

What is comparative fault?

According to Florida law, someone who caused injury to someone else should pay compensation based on the percentage of fault of each person. The legal term for this method of calculating compensation is pure comparative fault. For example, if you were injured in a collision in which you were not wearing a seatbelt, you may recover less after a crash than someone who was injured through no fault of their own.

What kinds of compensation are available?

Because every personal injury claim is unique, the types of damages that will be available depend on the specific facts and circumstances of your case. However, some of the types of damages that might be available in a personal injury case include:

  • Medical expenses
  • Pain and suffering
  • Lost wages
  • Property damage (e.g., vehicle repair or replacement)
  • Loss of companionship or a spouse or guidance of a parent
  • Diminished earning capacity
  • Emotional distress
  • Burial/funeral expenses (wrongful death)
  • Punitive damage

What should I hire an attorney? I am not a litigious person.

Insurance companies spend countless time and resources to train their adjusters and staff to try to pay out the least amount possible to you after an accident. In some companies, adjusters will get bonuses based on the amount they saved their multibillion-dollar corporation by not paying you what you deserve. As attorneys, we deal with these insurance companies on a daily basis, and we know their tactics. Not only that, but we have the ability to file a lawsuit against them.

We understand that people have trouble with the idea of a lawsuit. Sometimes a person will get hit by another driver, and the at-fault driver will be apologetic and nice. The client will say “I’m hurt, but I don’t want to sue the driver and ruin his life.” It is a rare occurrence when a driver or at-fault party has to pay money out of their own pocket to cover your damages. This is exactly why people purchase insurance coverage. Additionally, less than 7% of cases nationwide actually reach the trial stage, and sometimes your case can be settled before a lawsuit even needs to be filed. Never feel bad about taking care of yourself and your family.

What is Florida’s no-fault law (PIP)?

PIP stands for personal injury protection, and under Florida law, it is required that every vehicle owner and driver on the road have $10,000 worth of PIP insurance coverage. PIP benefits are paid by your own insurance company regardless of who was at fault for the accident. This is what is meant by Florida being a no-fault insurance state. PIP insurance pays for 80% of your medical bills and 60% of your lost wages, up to $10,000. This means you have to recover the rest of your out-of-pocket expenses from the driver that caused the accident. PIP covers any accident or injury that involves a vehicle, even if you are on a bicycle or a pedestrian and are injured by a vehicle.

Bring Us Your Concerns

We want to hear from you. Call 904-329-2718 or send us an email inquiry to schedule a free consultation.